historic ocracoke homes
The Soundfront Inn
Captain Elisha Chase, born March 13, 1790 in Swansea, Massachusetts, was descended from a long line of New England sea captains and businessmen. Elisha’s great-great-great grandfather William Chase, had emigrated to Massachusetts from Sussex, England in the mid-17th century.
During his sailing career Elisha Chase occasionally anchored his vessel at Ocracoke. There he met Thurza Howard (1803-1849), daughter of William and Agnes Mason Howard. She was the great-granddaughter of William Howard, Sr., colonial owner of Ocracoke Island. On February 14, 1821 Elisha and Thurza were married.
In 1828 Elisha Chase purchased, from the heirs of Thomas Wahab, an Ocracoke parcel of “3 acres more or less” with a commanding view of Pamlico Sound. Shortly thereafter he and Thurza had a large 2-story, double-pile (two rooms deep), gable-roofed frame house built on their property. Nearby they added a horse stable and outbuildings.
Soon after his marriage to Thurza Howard, Elisha Chase entered into a business partnership with his father-in-law. They operated a retail store known as Howard and Chase, purveyors of dry goods and other merchandise.
Elisha and Thurza had four children: Eliza Ann Chase (she died in 1824, when she was less than two years old, and is buried on Ocracoke Island), William Howard Chase, George Howard Chase, and Thurza Chase.
In 1834 Elisha and Thurza Chase sold their property to Thurza’s brothers, William Hatton Howard and George Washington Howard. With their three remaining children, Elisha and Thurza left Ocracoke to join a wagon train heading west. Somewhere in Tennessee both Elisha and Thurza fell ill, and lay unconscious or in delirium for several days. When Elisha awoke he learned that his wife had died. Distraught, he claimed to have medicine in his satchel that would have cured her. Thurza was buried alongside the trail.
In March of 1835, seaman Tilmon Farrow of Ocracoke wrote a three page letter to Boston attorney William Davies Sohier in regards to suspicious dealings in dry goods “sold uncommon cheep” at Howard & Chase’s store. There was also a question about “uncurrent” (outdated or illegitimate) bank bills passed by a Capt. Weeks, and the “robbing” of a vessel. Elisha Chase was sought for information about these affairs, but as he “left this state some time last spring…and not yet been heard of as we can find out” he was unavailable. He left behind “two letters” and “a considerable amount of money.” He seems not to have been a fugitive, however, since his destination, Boonville, Missouri (Cooper County), was known to Farrow.
Eventually Elisha and his three children settled in Callaway County, Missouri, not far from Boonville. He soon became a merchant in the town of Portland, Auxvasse Township. Elisha married again, this time to Anne (surname unknown), and they had one child, Henry L. Chase. After Elisha died in 1844 his estate was divided equally between his son William Howard Chase, his daughter Thurza and her husband John R. Seal, Elisha’s widow and her new husband Lewis Bolton, a trust for his minor son George Howard Chase, and a trust for his minor son Henry L. Chase.
In 1866 a connection was established between the H & L Chase company of Boston (“importers, manufacturers and dealers in bags & bagging,” Henry S. Chase, H. Lincoln Chase, and William L. Chase, proprietors) and St. Louis, Missouri, suggesting a possible tie between Elisha Chase’s family and their New England relatives.
In 1867 George Howard purchased the former Ocracoke Island property of Elisha and Thurza Howard Chase from the court. A year later he sold it to Captain Samuel Dudley Bragg (1836-1902). Capt. Bragg and his wife, Mariah Styron Bragg (1847-1917), lived there with their seven children.
Fearing that he would be lost at sea, Capt. Bragg immediately sold the house and land to “his wife and all his children and children to come.”
In 1892 Samuel Dudley Bragg, Jr. (1870-1892) and his brother Maltby (1877-1892) were on the mainland, having sold a catch of fish. As they were preparing to sail back to Ocracoke the weather deteriorated. They were advised not to attempt to cross the sound in such weather, but the brothers insisted, saying they knew the waters and they would be alright. They cast off and were never heard from again.
In 1902 a schooner captain brought his vessel to an Ocracoke anchorage because his ship was leaking. Not being able to make the repair, he left his vessel at Ocracoke under the care of Capt. Samuel Dudley Bragg, Sr. After Bragg finished the caulking a tug arrived to tow the schooner to Norfolk. Capt. Bragg and his son, James, accompanied the schooner. After rounding Cape Hatteras they encountered high winds and rough seas. The captain and crew of the tug, fearing that the heavy seas and strong wind would pull the bowsprit out of the schooner, decided to “cut her loose.” The schooner disappeared in the storm and sank.
Mariah Bragg is buried near her home. Her marker reads “She hath done what she could.”
Eventually Capt. and Mrs. Bragg’s son, Gary (1881-1954), became sole owner of the house and land. He remodeled the house with a hip roof, made several other changes, and named his property the Cedar Grove Inn. As Ocracoke’s first innkeeper he catered primarily to hunters and anglers. Later he built several small cottages which were rented to Navy personnel during World War II.
In 1951 Gary Bragg sold his property to Warwick and Margueritte Boos who moved to the island from Illinois. They operated the business as the Soundfront Inn until the early1970s. The house was then bought by retired Ocracoke school teacher, David Senseney.
The house has recently been sold and is actively a weekly rental. But as David says, “You are invited to return to a simpler time. The Soundfront Inn retains much of its original charm. Antiques and local decor combined with tasteful remodeling add to the ambiance of your stay. Take a vacation to ‘yesteryear.’”
Special thank you to Philip Howard for letting us use his journal article.
The Tom Frank Gaskins cottage was built in 1883 and is on the National Register of Historic Homes. Enjoy a vacation on Ocracoke Island in this historic island home. The cottage is located on a small unpaved private lane that conveniently leads to a footpath offering a short walk or bike ride to shops, galleries, restaurants, and Silver Lake Harbor.
Purple Martin is a historic Ocracoke Island vacation cottage still retains the original charm. Purple Martin is old-fashioned yet quaint. Enjoy the appeal of this historic neighborhood, located near the Ocracoke Lighthouse, a pleasant stroll to Silver Lake Harbor, and Springer’s Point Nature Preserve. Relax on the large front screened porch and enjoy incredible views from the rooftop deck.
Mattie Midgette is a wonderful historic cottage is tucked down a small village lane off Lighthouse Road. Enjoy a short walk to the nearby Ocracoke Lighthouse, Springer’s Point Nature Preserve, or Silver Lake Harbor. Mattie Midgett Cottage is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, with shops, galleries, restaurants, and other village activities within pleasant walking or biking distance.
Relax in one of the rockers or on the porch swing at Miss Elecia Garrish Home. Read or dream your hours away on the porches of this large historic Ocracoke Island home. Located on a quiet, dead-end lane in the heart of the village, this dog-friendly home is modernized while maintaining the original charm of beadboard walls, doors, and wood flooring.
This cottage with open living/dining/kitchen is the perfect retreat for a couple. Originally constructed in the early 20th Century, The L is listed on the register of Historic Homes on Ocracoke. Originally the kitchen extension for the William D Balance home. Experience the warmth and comfort of a cozy private setting tucked away on historic Howard Street. This delightful retreat offers a quiet haven where you can unwind and feel right at home. Enjoy leisurely strolls or pleasant bike rides to discover the charming shops, galleries, and restaurants that dot the area, all just a stone’s throw away from the picturesque Silver Lake Harbor. Immerse yourself in the inviting atmosphere and embrace the cozy charm of this hidden gem, perfect for creating cherished memories and a truly homey getaway. Docking available in Silver Lake Harbor.
Beverly’s House was built in approximately 1900 and is on the National Register of Historic Homes. This home was built by Charlie Scarborough who also built several important structures on the Island including the Oddfellows Lodge, the Wahab Villlage Hotel (now Blackbeard’s Lodge), the original Methodist Church, the William Ellis Williams House on the water at the Community Square, and Captain Thomas’ house on the other side of Silver Lake.
Surround yourself in historic elegance and charm. Originally constructed in 1912, Lela’s has been beautifully renovated with consideration for its original character. Visitors will find an artful combination of period and contemporary furnishings, crown molding, and custom craftsmanship throughout the home. Lela’s is the perfect retreat for privacy, romance, peace, and quiet. This one-of-a-kind historic home longs to become your home away from home.
Serendipity is a historic island cottage that beautifully blends the charm of old Ocracoke with the modern conveniences of today. Beautifully landscaped, Serendipity offers a quiet retreat at which you can relax and unwind. Cedar shakes and old pine floors throughout combined with an abundance of beadboard only serves to enhance the ambiance. One lot back from Silver Lake Harbor, Serendipity offers harbor access via an easement to the shared boat dock. Your shared dock provides 50 AMP Electric Service and Water.
The Net House is a charming Ocracoke Island vacation cottage holds a rich history, having once served as a net house for local fishermen. Through careful and dedicated refurbishment, it has been lovingly restored to its former glory, preserving its historical significance while providing modern comforts. The cottage proudly holds a coveted spot on the National Registry of Historic Places, a testament to its cultural and architectural importance.